This Memory We Share

I know this all won’t last forever. There will be a day where you and I must say goodbye and answer to the calling of life. But I hope that you remember what it felt like the very first time. The very first time you realized we were something so much more than just a day. The very first time you realized that we were in love.

I hope you remember the beginning, with all its light and beauty. The way that we just couldn’t get enough of each other’s presence, enough of each other’s touch. We would stay up until the sun rose the next morning; reminding us that the earth was still turning, but its axis was centered between us two.

I hope you remember all those long drives we would take, where your hand rested gently on my knee. The way I’d reach over the center console and cradle your face in my left hand. Even as I type this, I can feel all the warmth and stubble of a five o’clock shadow heating my fingers, my palm. I instinctively clench my hand every time I am reminded of this, to hold tight to the warmth just a little longer.

I hope you remember what it felt like, with your arms circled around my middle. Where my back was pressed to your front in a protective hold that made me feel so safe, so sure, that this would all last forever. How you would do this in a room full of people, just to bring me near. How you would bring your lips down to the top of my head; kissing me like I was the most precious thing.

I hope you remember the beginning, with all its gentleness and full hearts. The way that the world stopped for the seconds we lingered into each other’s kiss- pining away for just one more. I hope you remember all the laughter, all the good, all the happy, all the life. I hope you remember what it felt like- to hold something so real.

I know this all won’t last forever. The day has come and gone where we have said goodbye. But please hold on to this one last thing; I loved you completely, no matter the days, you brought me so much.

I hope you remember the beginning, and find someone’s love, who always feels like it did the very first time- every time, for all time.

-m.j.t.-

Leave a Reply

