What I won’t have with you

You won’t be the one who kissed my lips first. And I won’t be your first kiss either.

You won’t be the one who introduces me to funnel cake at the state fair, or the view of the sunset at the top of the parking garage.

You won’t be the first person I share my music collection with. And I won’t be the first person that you play the piano for.

I won’t be the girl who first held your hand, or kissed you in the elevator when no one was looking. And you won’t be the first guy I daydream about.

My first time kissing you in the rain, will maybe be your second, third, or fourth. And your first time reading Having a Coke with You will be my ninetieth or hundredth.

This is the thing about you and me. We won’t be each other’s firsts.

And maybe you once loved someone else, just as madly as you love me.

We will look at each other through the eyes of past lovers; across the room, at dinner tables, and visits to the museum.

I won’t be the girl that you reminisce on when something from the past reoccurs. And you won’t be the guy that I can tell you all about when I once loved before.

It will seem that we have lived a complete life before we meet each other. Because that will be the truth, we will have lived a life before meeting.

You will know that you won’t be my first, and I will know that too.

But what you will be is the one I walk through life with, side by side. And I will be the one you come home to, each day, after a long day.

I may not have experienced some of those firsts with you, and you may have not with me. But what we will have is the time to share those experiences, and to create some firsts together.

We will have pasts, but we will also have futures. We will be there one day, sharing those moments together.

And when that moment comes- you will be the one I love the most.

-m.j.t.-

3 thoughts on “What I won’t have with you”

Leave a Reply

